Entertaining Platt: Storage Wars

January 22, 2012 § Leave a comment

As you can see, I'm crushing the competition!

So, as Josh might’ve mentioned, we’ve been pretty addicted to Storage Wars lately.

I’m also glad he mentioned that I’m stomping everybody in the leaderboards, because that saves me having to say it over and over and over again. I’ll just say it over again: STOMPING.

My girlfriend Catherine got me hooked on the A&E series. So when I learned that there was a Facebook game based on it (and using some of the personalities who appear in the show), I decided to give it a shot.

I’ve been hooked ever since.

Things I like about it:

  • Sort of a slot machine. You get a few lockers to investigate and click a button until money comes out (or you lose money, if you take risks on crappy storage units).
  • Bonus “concentration”-style challenges. I love the little bit where, as the clock ticks down toward bidding, you have to hunt for dollar signs in the hopes of getting a bonus.
  • Hidden prizes. I really liked the addition of treasures in some units that you want to find to amp up the value of a storage unit. HINT: One reason that I’m kicking so much butt on the leaderboards is that I only really play the auctions when I have treasures to find, and I almost always have a Magnet booster in my inventory to make sure that I know a treasure is in the unit. When there’s treasure, I bid until I win and I don’t relent. When I don’t have a Magnet, I can usually count on clues from the game itself with pop-up text relating to one of the treasures, but this doesn’t always happen.

Things I don’t like about it:

  • Visuals get awfully repetitive after a while.
  • Progression isn’t as intuitive as it should be. For example, when I beat all the storage units on the current map, it opens access to the next map – except sometimes I’ll go to the newly opened map and see that the location is still locked. It’s not clear whether I need to be a higher level or if I’ve failed to complete content in the previous map.

Definitely worth playing if you like a slot machine-style game that you can pick up and put down rather casually.

What's entertaining YOU?

What’s this?

You are currently reading Entertaining Platt: Storage Wars at Entertaining Platt and Peery.

meta

